Pests

In my garden I have 8 Azalea’s which are all approx 25 years old they are and always have been stunning each spring. However one or two I have noticed black sooty mould on stems and leaves , on closer inspection on the underside of the small leaves with a magnifying glass to my horror they have soft scale ( coccus hesperidium) I sat at my computer for hours reading about what can be done to help my plants naturally of course as I don’t use pesticides. So I think horticultural oil and neem oil which is going to be somewhat difficult due to the thousands of small leaves and the task of reaching each one is going to prove impossible and bering in mind it is in bud at the moment. It makes me so sad to think I might loose these magnificent plants due to a pest!

Leave a Reply

